New Open Adoption Bloggers – April 2012

The open adoption bloggers list grows every month and sometimes additions get lost in the shuffle. Hopefully these round-ups of the new blogs from the month before will help folks connect.

Here are the blogs added to the blogroll in April:

FIRST PARENTS

Sunshine in a Bottle: My website is a place to express myself through writing, my birthmama story is up as well.

The World As I See It: A life filled with Multiple Sclerosis, Moments & Memories

ADOPTED ADULTS

The Declassified Adoptee: A closed adoption adult adoptee writing about her life stories, reform, and ethics. She is reunited and wants the adoption world to know what contact and relationships have been like for her, her adoptive family, and her original family in a closed-adoption-gone-open in adulthood.

Our Old Southern House: Just an adult adoptee and her hubby living life with their two kids, bio and adopted. Daily life of an open adoption lovin’, transracial family living in their old house.

ADOPTIVE PARENTS

Raising Paityn: Raising Paityn was about my journey as a first-time mama to our little girl. With the addition in January of Olivia through domestic adoption, it’s become a story of our completed family.

Pink Shoes: Not only do I write about life with my amazing adopted daughter and what she teaches me everyday, but I write frequently about how our open adoption has changed us for the better. I share my thoughts on why I think we could better cultivate a culture of adoption in this country if the idea of open adoption was more prevalent and more widely talked about in schools, at women’s clinics, and in everyday exposure.

Our Story: A Blog about Open Adoption: We adopted our daughter, Zoe, 2 1/2 years ago. I first starting writing to talk about dealing with infertility, and it slowly grew into a blog about domestic adoption. We have a wonderful open adoption with Zoe’s birthmom. I write about our visits with her, other adoption-related topics, and every day life.

My Life: With Bugs, Brat and Monster: Some blogs are informative. Some are serious. Some are even entertaining. This isn’t any of those things.

Two Women Blogging: I’m one of the Two Women, and I’m an adoptive mom in an open adoption. The blog is not entirely focused on adoption – I also write about politics, medicine and pop-culture – but many of my favorite posts discuss our ongoing journey as a family in open adoption.

Our Old Southern House: Just an adult adoptee and her hubby living life with their two kids, bio and adopted. Daily life of an open adoption lovin’, transracial family living in their old house.

PROSPECTIVE ADOPTIVE PARENTS

Finding Mercy: Ramblings of a stay at home mom to two little girls (one of whom has Celiac disease) about our lives as we pursue an open, domestic, trans-racial adoption and embrace race and culture in the city.

Scared to be Happy, Happy to be Scared: Wife/Husband team blogging about our adventure in open adoption through open ended letters to our future adopted child we’ve affectionately dubbed “Little One”.

